It is currently Thu Jun 21, 2018 12:47 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SUGGESTION: client version checker
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:43 pm 

Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 7:41 am
Posts: 15
i hope that gnuworld's coder can make this module, checking/scanning client version (ctcp version) when they first connected. since 3rd party services is not compatible with IRCu, so i hope gnuworld can have this one.

thank you


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 1:49 pm 
#help member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 12:16 am
Posts: 83
Location: Sydney, Australia
and if the client does not respond to ctcp version?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:16 am 

Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 435
Location: Netherlands
There is a 3rd party service doing that, it is called ircdefender. I just hope someone fixed the p10 support now.



_________________
Don't bother reading, I'm just the lame botlender, right ?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 2:52 pm 

Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 7:41 am
Posts: 15
seems like it works!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 5:48 am 

Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 7:41 am
Posts: 15
hahaha. my mistake. seems like it doesn't work. actually the service send ctcp version to the client connected to the ircd but when the version reply matched somestring, nothing happen, so i assume that this 3rd party services is not compatible. i've try "neoserv" and this "defender" and no one work.

hope to hear other suggestions. thanks


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 1:43 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 5:18 am
Posts: 10
Location: An igloo slowly melting
We had a discussion about how easely VERSION replies can be forged. Such a service is totally useless. I could just change my reply to something not in your bot's config, and evade the check.

Unless you disallow clients not matching a given string, such a bot would only hog ressources and waste bandwidth. My guess is, dont expect such a module to be included any time soon..



_________________
I'm programmed to be very busy.
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron