It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:55 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: Inexplicable G-Line? HELP REQUESTED
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 4:18 am 

I've run into a problem on Undernet.

When I left for work today everything seemed fine, and I left my IRC client open and running as I do every day, all the time. When I came home I found that I had been disconnected, and that subsequent re-connect attempts had been blocked by a "G-Line."

I had heard the term before, but to be sure I understood it I had to look it up. I was dismayed to learn that a G-line is effectively a ban directed at a specific user.

I had been away from the computer for a number of hours before the g-line went into effect, and I highly doubt that any of my housemates went in and used my name for anything. None of them have ever used IRC before, and all of the tabs appeared to be as I had left them.

I have been using undernet for at least 5 years. Unfortunately I'm not yet as 'techy' as I'd like to be. I wonder if I have only been g-lined from the specific server I connect through (Helsinki, if it helps) or from undernet as a whole. To complicate this, I cannot find the method by which to connect through a different server using my current IRC client.

I'm generally a pretty agreeable guy, and well-liked, so even the possibility of the g-line being activated several hours after my last activity seems remote. I haven't ticked anybody off on undernet for a good number of months (to be conservative in my estimate). I truly cannot imagine for what reason this measure has been taken.

I am hoping someone here can give me the help and information I need to get this sorted out. Normally I'd talk to my buddies on undernet with a computer/online problem that's over my head, but I don't have that option in this case.

I am completely confused. Please help me.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:35 am