It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:22 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 Page 2 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 7:47 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:09 pm
Posts: 268
Location: Cyprus
What is the reason to do more than 1 connection? Ok maybe you will need 2 some time... but 5 and 6?!? Wow! Some people (as far as i know) join clones in their under registration channels to make the channel look full...



_________________
~ He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. And if you gaze for long into an Abyss, The Ábyss gazes also into you. ~
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 6:21 pm 
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 11:12 am
Posts: 760
Location: Romania
I`m talking here only about Romania as i don`t know the situation in other contries.

Some internet cafes don`t afford to buy a set of ips and buy only 1 ip, or for example at my highschool in the laboratory there were 15 computers but only 1 ip...there are situations when people have only 1 ip and try to connect more. I don`t agree with this but this is the reality and i don`t see how things are going to change in the future.



_________________
sirAndrew @ Undernet.org

8 years on this forum and i'm still the #1 poster around.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 8:37 pm 
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 9:51 pm
Posts: 594
Location: Europe


Last edited by Mitko on Fri May 27, 2005 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.


_________________
Dimitar Tnokovski aka Mitko
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 8:11 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 3:49 pm
Posts: 408
Location: Southeast Asia, Philippines
okay this sounds insane to me hehehe :o one client is enough i think anyway i tried it but i only connect 4 clients on one ip addy. :roll:



_________________
I love Maria Katrina Rey
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 8:29 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:09 pm
Posts: 268
Location: Cyprus
I can only connect tree. Four if i'm lucky but not more. Why someone would use 6 clones? Only 1 client its ok.



_________________
~ He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. And if you gaze for long into an Abyss, The Ábyss gazes also into you. ~
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 1:35 pm 
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 11:12 am
Posts: 760
Location: Romania
TheAbyss as i said they are not really clones. There are more than one machines with the same ip.....yes i know it sucks....


Mitko an internet cafe or a local network must buy a series or ips.....but...in romania...when giving an ip to a user an isp doesn`t care if someone uses an ip for one computer or for ten. That is in cases someone likes to have a private line and not to use a dial-up account.



_________________
sirAndrew @ Undernet.org

8 years on this forum and i'm still the #1 poster around.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 4:26 pm 
#help member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 10:12 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Europe - Romania - Bucharest
Hi,

The thing is... Undernet allows only 2 connections from the same ip/host, anyone that over runs that limit can be 'banned out'. Servers ban users at 6 connections but even 3 connections may be seen as an abuse :)

As Andrew said, internet cafe's or different LAN/networks that are willing to connect to Undernet ... have a limited number of IP's , frequently the number of IP's is way to small acording to the number of PC's located in that network/internetcafe/LAn/or whatever.

The probability to get an I:line is very small due the abuse as it was said before... so people try to get on the network without thinking that they might get g:lined.
TheAbyss you got only 3 connections and you didn't tryed that hard...
Imagine 150 users on 1 rootable IP... They will outrun that limit in a matter of minutes if they all try to connect....

In my point of view this is a delicated problem as I was in the same situation... It's really annoying to get G:lined in the middle of an conversation...

The only way to solve this is to ask the ISP to provide/buy/request more IP's .... if he is not able to do that.... then "you" should get a new ISP with more Ip's :)


Regards, tT



_________________
Gunned up and clapped quick..
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 5:03 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:09 pm
Posts: 268
Location: Cyprus
ISPs need to improve :P at least mine provides each user a different ip.



_________________
~ He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. And if you gaze for long into an Abyss, The Ábyss gazes also into you. ~
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:02 am 

Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 435
Location: Netherlands
irc.undernet.org is an alias for US.undernet.org
and thats a simple round robin list of servers in the us, same goes for eu.
there is no smart thing in it besides the dns server returning a random list of servers in it from which the irc client picks an ip.



_________________
Don't bother reading, I'm just the lame botlender, right ?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:04 am 

Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 435
Location: Netherlands
irc.undernet.org is an alias for US.undernet.org
and thats a simple round robin list of servers in the us, same goes for eu.
there is no smart thing in it besides the dns server returning a random list of servers in it from which the irc client picks an ip.



_________________
Don't bother reading, I'm just the lame botlender, right ?
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: same IP
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:17 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:28 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Turkiye
Hello,
There is some problem about username from same IP after started adsl connection.
1. A lot of people using 2 connection with 1 modulater-router on internet.and an occur a problem about 1 IP 1username.
2. A stable computer and a notebook connection at home from 2 people, same problem on 2 people from 1 IP.
3.Undernet allow some bots for exp. #usa lillehop and yoshi and bots of trivia channels. they have usernames!
4.The Problem of Selling channels, how will it get stop. is there any precoution like that restrict of time for change manager?

all the best



_________________
give information and make happy someone AND be HaPPy.
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 3:36 pm 
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 9:51 pm
Posts: 594
Location: Europe
1. The problem can be solved if those 2 usernames on 1 IP are real persons.
2. The same answer.
3. Well, some Undernet servers allow friendly bots (see their /motd). Regarding the usernames, they have been probably not seen yet. Or, maybe the bots have soul ? :wink:
4. Selling channels ? That's just retarded. How will it stop ? Well, ask the retarded persons buying channels. That's how it will stop. The manager change period is 90 days if I am not wrong.


Best Regards,
Mit.



_________________
Dimitar Tnokovski aka Mitko
Image
Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: