It is currently Wed Nov 21, 2018 5:13 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




 Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: [Help Connection] Two connections from same ip.
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 4:16 pm 

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 3:52 pm
Posts: 1
Hello:

I'm an old timer where IRC is concerned but I been out of the game for quite awhile. I've come to Undernet and noticed quite a few changes (like the disabled /links and /maps).

I had one main question that nobody could seem to answer. What exactly is the Undernet policy on bots and multiple connections? I'd like to run a bot for my old channel off my broadband connection -- but I don't want to be mistaken for a drone/clone runner and g-lined (either automatically or manually).

Now if a server allows bots and there are _two_ (not three, not four or more) connections from my hostname is there going to be a problem? In the old days I wouldn't even be asking this question but times seem to have changed quite a bit.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 5:26 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 12:47 pm
Posts: 92
Location: Transylvania
Hello , -> http://www.undernet.org/documents/aup.html <- you can find Undernet's AUP. Also check the /motd of the servers and see the ones which accept more than one connection from the same IP/host.

Thanx.


Last edited by Hyper^ on Wed Mar 09, 2005 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.


_________________
Watch out your attitude! Follow the white rabbit...
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:37 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 10:26 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 connections will not be a problem, as far as i know you get an auto gline for 6 connections (which is anyway hard to get).

bots are legal on most servers, but ONLY if they are non-abusive bots (don't spam, don't msg on join/part).


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 10:03 am 
Forum Moderator

Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 93
Location: Romania
The max connections depends on the server, there are servers that allow only 2, and others that allow up to 5 afaik..you should pick some servers from http://www.undernet.org/servers.php and try..


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:03 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 3:49 pm
Posts: 408
Location: Southeast Asia, Philippines
As far as I know you can connect up to 3 irc clients per Ip addy if you exist on that then sorry you will receive a glined ( excessive connections )
This is based on my experience.. :wink:



_________________
I love Maria Katrina Rey
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:12 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:09 pm
Posts: 268
Location: Cyprus
Yeap things changed a little bit to prevent abuse :) Using irc.* will connect you to the server most near you and when you are connected read the /motd, usually it writes there how many clones you are allowed to use



_________________
~ He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. And if you gaze for long into an Abyss, The Ábyss gazes also into you. ~
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 2:16 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 10:26 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Well from my POV, I can connect 5 clones, using diffrent servers. I tried and it works just fine, no g-line received


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Amazing!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 3:09 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 3:49 pm
Posts: 408
Location: Southeast Asia, Philippines
5 connections on one ip address? :o



_________________
I love Maria Katrina Rey
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:14 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 10:26 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
yeah.. just try using different servers


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:51 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:09 pm
Posts: 268
Location: Cyprus
Maybe when you connect 6 clones you get gline... i'm not sure though :oops:



_________________
~ He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. And if you gaze for long into an Abyss, The Ábyss gazes also into you. ~
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:25 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 10:26 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
yes.. as far as I know 6 clones = gline, but anyway it's hard to get 6 clones


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:10 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 3:49 pm
Posts: 408
Location: Southeast Asia, Philippines
let's see what's the result of connecting 5 clients with the same ip address I'll try it though.. :wink:



_________________
I love Maria Katrina Rey
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 1:09 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:09 pm
Posts: 268
Location: Cyprus
Its hard to connect 5 and more clones :P So if anyone does manage to connect 5 or 6 he will just get glined :) Try it if you like



_________________
~ He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. And if you gaze for long into an Abyss, The Ábyss gazes also into you. ~
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:32 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 10:26 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
for 5 you don't get glined, only 6


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 7:22 pm 
Forum Moderator

Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 1:00 am
Posts: 93
Location: Romania
There are servers that don`t accept even 2 connections from same IP, so be thankfull u got more than 1 :P


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: